Three Days Of Theanine

Over at the Roosh V Forums there has been much discussion about the drug Theanine, and their own experiences. It sounded interesting enough, and upon some Google-based research it did not seem to have any negative side effects. So I mustered up twenty-hard earned dollars and went down to the GNC and bought generic a brand L-Theanine. For those who do not know what Theanine is, Theanine is supposed to promote relaxation, stop anxiety and make you feel all around good; preliminary research supports Theanine having said effects as well.

So after reading all the pro-theanine write ups on the internet, and all of the gentlemen who seem to claim benefit as a result of theanine, Mr. Backwards decided to take the plunge himself.

Day One

I started small, just out of my natural fear of drugs being more powerful than they usually are, and popped 100 milligrams worth of Theanine. Within a half an hour or so, I felt a sense of calm and great focus. The high felt similar to the lack of inhibition I felt during drinking, minus the actual negative effects that come with drunkenness.

I must add, I did drink a cup of coffee with the 100 milligrams I took. I also drank alcohol about an hour later, which to my surprise, it felt harder to get drunk, and when I was hitting the stage of drunkenness, I felt more alert. However, I did get intoxicated to the point of incoherency later into the night…

Day Two

I woke up with a shitty hang over, but for the fuck of it, I decided to try some Theanine. This time I took 200 milligrams, and drank two cups of coffee. Instantly I felt a lot better. It almost felt like I never drank the night before. Dope. The high however, did not feel as intense as the first day I took Theanine, but I still felt similar effects.

I took another 200 milligrams, and I went to a bar – minus the drinking – around 9-10 PM and made a couple approaches. I did not feel anxious during these interactions, but in a weird way, the calmness I felt almost pushed me away from being motivated enough to care about speaking to these women. I was content hanging out with gentlemen around me, or speaking to the construction gentlemen occupying the bar, than I was with actively trying to get laid.

Day Three

I took 200 milligrams of Theanine in the afternoon, and decided to sit down and work on some music. I spent two hours or so working on music, but it felt like ten minutes. The work was not sloppy either, but incredibly focused and some of the best I’ve done in awhile. Nice.

I went out for a walk after, and made a couple approaches on my way to the bank. I felt very confident and calm, and did not worry about the results as much as I normally do. Grabbed a number. Nice.

Criticisms?

Theanine DOES do the things most people claim, but I would argue, if you have awful social anxiety, are a boring person or simply do not have motivation to approach women, this drug will not change any of that. I think Theanine is just a good social booster for those who have average to good social skills already, and for those nights I do not feel like drinking to be social, Theanine is a good alternative. If you still have a lack of social skills and general anxiety about basic issues in your life, while I think Theanine will help, my experience has lead me to feel like the high is not powerful enough that it will stop an underlying social issues you have all together like some pro-theaniner’s would have you believe.

2 comments

  1. Mike Lopez

    I would suggest adding 500mgs or so of L-Tyrosine to the L-Theanine on an empty stomach before u go out. That’s one of my favorite “anxiolytic stacks”. I personally like the bit of energy Tyrosine provides, while it also helps kill stress/anxiety. The Theanine is great for not only the calming & stress relief effects, but helps ur body break down alcohol twice as fast, hence the lack of hangover. The only downside to Tyrosine is ur body’s tolerance to it, so don’t take it everyday. Switch it up to every other day or only when u have to go do something particularly stressful. But definitely try it out, with and without Theanine, and gauge ur body’s reception. These 2 particularly work well for me. I take the Tyrosine for stressful occasions and I take it w/ Theanine when I go out partying or hanging out or whatever involving alcohol.

    Also, I would suggest looking into other nootropics that increase energy and improve mood/reduce stress-anxiety.

Leave a Reply

